Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Data Archive

ATSIDA Reference Group

Terms of Reference

The ATSIDA Reference Group provides strategic advice to the operational group and assists in identifying and prioritizing datasets to add to the archive as well as building relationships with Indigenous communities, researchers and curatorial institutions.

Their terms of reference are:

  • To advise on the development and promotion of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Data Archive (ATSIDA)
  • To assist in building relationships with Indigenous communities, researchers and curatorial institutions
  • To determine criteria for the selection and prioritization of datasets to be included in ATSIDA
  • To provide advice on datasets or issues that present difficulties under accepted protocols

Composition and Membership

The Reference Group will seek to provide broad representation, with members demonstrating relevant experience and knowledge across issues related to the ethical collection and management of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander research data, and the conduct of research projects involving Indigenous populations and their data. Membership will include where possible a member from each State and Territory.

The Reference Group shall consist of, as a minimum:

  • Ex Officio Members:
    • UTS Librarian or nominee
    • Director of the UTS Jumbunna Indigenous House of Learning (JIHL) or nominee
    • AIATSIS Principal or nominee
  • Nominated Members:
    • 2 representatives from the Museums, Archives and/or Libraries sector
    • 1 UTS Indigenous HDR student to be appointed in consultation with Director of Research, JIHL
    • 1 research active UTS Indigenous academic


Nominated members will be appointed by the UTS Library Executive in consultation with the Chair. Nominated members may be appointed upon the recommendation of the Chair or following an appropriate call for Expressions of Interest.  Members may also be invited by the Chair, in consultation with existing members of the Reference Group, to renew their membership at the expiry of their term.

The Chair will be elected from within the Reference Group membership by ballot administered by the UTS Library at the expiry of the current Chair’s term. The Chair may be invited to renew their position.

All new members of the ATSIDA Reference Group will receive a letter of appointment from the UTS Library Executive including the date of appointment, length of membership, responsibilities, and confidentiality statement to sign.

Term of Office

The term of membership for the ATSIDA Reference Group will be two years and one year for students from the time of appointment.

Frequency of Meetings

The ATSIDA Reference Group meets at least twice a year.

The ATSIDA Reference Group reports to:

UTS Library Executive


ATSIDA Reference Group Members


Professor Lisa Jackson Pulver

Interim Chair

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Indigenous Strategy and Services, University of Sydney

Michael Gonzalez


University Librarian, UTS Library

Professor Michael McDaniel


Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Leadership and Engagement), University of Technology Sydney

Lyndall Osborne


Executive Director, Cultural Heritage Project, Australian Institute for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)

Associate Professor
Gawaian Bodkin


Associate Professor, Centre for the Advancement of Indigenous Knowledges, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, UTS

Jonathan Jones


UTS academic intern & PhD candidate

Phil Gordon


Aboriginal Heritage Project Officer, Australian Museum

Ronald Briggs


Indigenous Librarian, Indigenous Services, The State Library of NSW

Joy Cardona


Manager, Information Management Resource Centre, Northern Land Council, Darwin